Early Years

Early Years Foundation Stage at Stoke Heath Primary School

Early Years Foundation Stage is from birth to 5 years. At Stoke Heath Primary school we have a nursery class (2-4 years) and reception class (4-5 years)

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children will develop the 3 prime areas first.

Communication and language;
Physical development; and
Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s initial development and will enable them to develop their learning further.

As children’s learning develops, the prime areas will help them to acquire skills in 4 specific areas.

Understanding the world; and
Expressive arts and design.

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The teaching and supporting staff will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

Spring 2022- EYFS Curriculum Letter Spring 21-22

Autumn 2021- EYFS Curriculum Letter Autumn 21-22